• Public
  • 1004

In 2016, nine ‘founding partners’ announced the launch of the EPRM and signed a Letter of Intent. Since November 2016 the EPRM is up and running and has started its first activities. The EPRM is a partnership, organised around the three pillars – Government agencies and institutions, Supply Chain Actors and Civil Society Organisations. Each of the pillars have developed their own Constituency Guidelines.The EPRM is governed by a Board comprised of nine members – three from each pillar and consists of:

Supply Chain Actors

RMI – Leah Butler (Chair)
Intel – Julian Lageard
Valcambi – Virginie Bahon.

Civil Society

IPIS – Lotte Hoex (Vice Chair)
Solidaridad – Boukje Theeuwes
Diakonia – Joakim Wohlfeil

Governments and Insitutions

Dutch Ministry of Foreign Affairs – Jan Pieter Barendse (Vice Chair)
UK, Foreign & Commonwealth Office – Gideon Dewhirst 
Federal Ministry of Cooperation and Development (BMZ) – Leopold von Carlowitz, GIZ


UN Environment (UNEP)
The Commission’s Directorate-General for International Cooperation and Development (DG DEVCO)


The EPRM Secretariat

The executive arm of the Board is the Secretariat which has been commissioned to the Netherlands Enterprise Agency (, they are in charge of the day-to-day activities. The EPRM Secretariat plays a crucial role in the execution of this initiative and is responsible for professional operation of the partnership. will keep track of EPRM’s activities that are leading to the desired goal.

The EPRM finds it important to avoid conflict of interest between its members and project funds. This is why specific guidelines are set-up and followed to avoid conflict of interest.