On May 12, 2016, nine ‘founding partners’ announced the launch of the EPRM and signed a Letter of Intent. Since November 2016 the EPRM is up and running and has started its first activities. The EPRM is a partnership, organised around the three pillars – Government agencies and institutions, Supply Chain Actors and Civil Society Organisations. Each of the pillars have developed their own Constituency Guidelines.The EPRM is governed by a Board comprised of nine members - three from each pillar and consists of:


Supply chain actors

Intel - Julian Lageard (Vice Chair)
RMI – Leah Butler
Valcambi – Virginie Bahon

Civil Society

Solidaridad - Boukje Theeuwes (Vice Chair)
IPIS – Lotte Hoex
Diakonia - Joakim Wohlfeil

Governments and insitutions

Dutch Ministry of Foreign Affairs – Dirk-Jan Koch (Chair)
UK, Foreign & Commonwealth Office - Joanna Vallat

The executive arm of the Board is the Secretariat which has been commissioned to the Netherlands Enterprise Agency (RVO.nl), they are in charge of the day-to-day activities. The EPRM Secretariat plays a crucial role in the execution of this initiative and is responsible for professional operation of the partnership. It is responsible for putting into action the key roles of the EPRM such as selecting and funding suitable projects, coordinating and convening different supply chain actors to encourage responsible mineral sourcing and production and to facilitate research and knowledge sharing by creating a knowledge platform. Moreover, RVO.nl will keep track of EPRM’s activities that are leading to the desired goal. This also means direct coordination with external service providers engaged with the EPRM to support specific platform activities.